top of page

A vegan lifestyle in Wollongong


As I glanced down at my cardboard cut-out menu, adorned with italics and stylised tree motifs, my eyes scanned the food descriptions, searching for a familiar dish. A vegan restaurant was something that I'd never experienced before, but the tropical decor of Quay Canteen gave me a sense of relaxation and purity. Between the tropical plants surrounding each wooden bench, and the clean cut white walls contrasting with hues of green and brown, it was easy to forgot we were in the centre of Wollongong.


Quay Canteen is located on 5/157 Crown street Wollongong. With vegetarian and vegan diets now on the rise it's becoming more and more common to cafes and restaurants accommodating, if not championing, these diets. 2016 data from market researcher Euromonitor International highlights the increased demand for vegan restaurants - Australia's packaged vegan food market is currently worth almost $136 million and is set to reach $215 million by 2020.


Hannah Mitchell with Pho soup. Anzalone, CA 2016, Quay Canteen Wollongong, 20 September 2016.


[introduce Hannah]


“Back in 2012 there weren’t many vegetarians, let alone vegans. I think it has really expanded recently, which is great to see as it is growing more attention to vegan foods and products,” Hannah says whilst her dish of Vietnamese Pho soup is placed in front of her. The scent of warm vegetables and spices begin to linger between us.


Like many vegans, for my dear friend Hannah veganism isn't just about food consumption. “It’s a lifestyle, it’s not just a diet," she says, dipping into her flower-printed shoulder bag to show me her vegan eyeliner as she does so.


“This is the one piece of makeup that I use!” she laughs. Her approach to clothing shows her commitment to an animal-cruelty free lifestyle. It even echoes through her skincare routine.


“When I first became vegan I gave away all my leather clothing and makeup that was tested on animals – all I use now is vegan eyeliner and organic, vegan skincare products, mostly all purchased from the online store, iHerb”.


When in Wollongong however, Hannah's go-to shop for vegan groceries to beauty products and even cleaning products is Taylor's Healthy Grocers, which opened only last year in Wollongong Central. Taylor's provides products and services for the gluten-free, organic, dairy-free, vegan and vegetarian consumer.


Recently Wollongong has experienced a sizeable increase of vegan and vegetarian restaurants such as Raw Energy Wollongong, All Good Things Organic, Ghedia’s Indian Restaurant, The Mango Tree and Ziggy's House of Nomms. It's made being a Wollongong vegetarian or vegan much easier and a lot more exciting.


“It can be quite easy eating a vegetarian or vegan based diet once you get started. My shopping trolley is always filled up with baked beans, lots of vegies, pasta and ready-made nuggets consisting of tofu which are delicious! And every once a week or so I’ll treat myself to some of Ziggy’s House of Nomms tasty dumplings," Hannah says as she eats her final bite of a cabbage and mushroom rice paper roll.


Rice paper rolls. Anzalone, CA 2016, Quay Canteen Wollongong, 20 September 2016.


Statistics from famous UK chef, Jamie Oliver, state that the average vegan diet is higher in vitamin C and fibre,and lower in saturated fat than an omnivorous diet. Cholesterol levels are also usually lower in people following a vegan diet, and are often found to have lower rates of heart disease.


“When I was eating meat I was convinced that I had IBS. When I would eat meat I would always experience aches in my stomach and nausea, though now having changed to a complete vegan diet I’ve never felt healthier and more fresh in my own skin,” Hannah says.


For those like Hannah who incorporate their vegan lifestyle into their beauty regime, Wollongong Priceline (along with other Priceline stores nationwide) now stock vegan beauty alternatives, everything from shampoo and conditioners to moisturisers and makeup. Vegan-safe brands include; Carmex, Sukin, Aesop, Natio, Innoxa and Eco Minerals. For those wanting a fun hang-out where you can enjoy the smell of Moroccan incense while shopping around for cruelty free accessories and clothing, Tree of Life is the place to be.


Hannah is optimistic about the future of veganism saying, “Wollongong is definitely growing as a vegan and vegetarian friendly community and I am excited to see what will be coming next to help those of us living a cruelty free lifestyle.”

You Might Also Like:
bottom of page